Advent Week Two

Y’all. This first week of Advent was rough.

All the things I thought I had set aside, all the burdens I thought I had surrendered? Almost crushed me again this week.

Peace.

I just need some peace.

But it’s Monday now and it is time to prepare for a week of preparation. A week of peace.

Because He prepared a way. 

Joseph took his pregnant wife and traveled a long distance only to find there was no room in the inn. No room.

Feels a little hopeless doesn’t it? Feels like a mess? Feels peace-less?

But there was room in a stable. There was a manger to lay in.

And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn. Luke 2:7

We see no room and we despair.

But somebody made some room for hope. 

And from that humble corner of the stable? A Light so bright it lights the world.

“I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

From the dark corners where someone surrendered just a little bit of room? We got  star so bright that it lit up the entire countryside.

“I, Jesus, have sent my angel to give you this testimony for the churches. I am the Root and the Offspring of David, and the bright Morning Star.” Revelation 22:16

I hope they were shocked and awed. I hope the inn keeper, the other people in that stable, the people out on the streets were blinded by the beauty of the humble savior that they just scooted over a tiny bit for.

Because when I really think about it, I remember that it isn’t about me. It isn’t about my perfect sacrifice. My perfect Advent.

It is about His light. His hope.

But maybe if I’ll just make a tiny bit of room, if I’ll just surrender one dark corner of myself…I would be surprised at the light He will shine out of me this week. I would find the peace in a place that I couldn’t force into that cramped little space.

 Now there were in the same country shepherds living out in the fields, keeping watch over their flock by night. And behold, an angel of the Lord stood before them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were greatly afraid.  Then the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people.  For there is born to you this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.  And this will be the sign to you: You will find a Babe wrapped in swaddling cloths, lying in a manger.”

 And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying:

 “Glory to God in the highest,
And on earth peace, goodwill toward men!”

Leave a Reply

