Baby Bean and The Mexicans

Y’all. I’m giggling so hard thinking about writing this that I can hardly type.

We are at an amazing little guesthouse in Jinja with our clan. But by sheer numbers we are overwhelming, which means in this house we have left no nook overturned, no cranny undiscovered, and no person unfriended. 

Jane particularly has quite the following. In fact, about the third day we were here she was crawling around outside while the guards were sitting on the lawn eating their lunches and she dove for the beans. They generously offered her a plate.

I don’t know if you have seen Jane, but it is needless to say she devoured them with gusto. Anthony, the guard, couldn’t seem to believe that such a little baby liked beans!

And I said something to the effect of, “We eat a lot of Mexican food so we are used to rice and beans, I mean, Texas is close to Mexico.”

And then yesterday?

I found out that the staff here nicknamed her “Baby Bean”

I died. 

Then I found out that they call us the Mexicans. 

Y’all. I’m laughing so hard tears are running down my face. 

We will definitely leave our mark on this place. Just Baby Bean and the Mexicans.

photo

The best cook on the continent teaching us how to steam Posho in banana leaves.
The best cook on the continent teaching us how to steam Posho in banana leaves.

photo 3-5

2 thoughts on “Baby Bean and The Mexicans

  1. Hilarious!! Love it! I would find it hard to believe that you guys would do anything other than leave a huge impression anywhere you go and on anyone you meet!

    Like

Leave a Reply

