Let Her Hair Down

Yesterday got off to a bit of a rocky start. I missed my opportunity to shower because I slept in until the girls woke up, which means my tired self was jolted out of bed by loud joyful noises and the lights flipped on to full brightness. I started off feeling behind and overwhelmed.

I needed a shower, but Russ had to leave for work earlier than expected. I had forgotten to get the way past due laundry folded so the girls didn’t have any clothes to wear. I missed my chance to get my make up on folding clothes. Strike two against the home team. I threw on some running shorts that were more snug in the hips than I remembered and a t-shirt that wasn’t quite baggy enough to hide the remnants that child bearing has left on my tummy. The girls and I struggled and wrestled through our morning.

Seriously, it was a bumpy morning.

With the girls dresses, hair braided, laundry put up, and a determination to redeem the morning with a little fun and productivity I told the girls to go put dance skirts on and handed them spay bottles and rags so that we could all clean together.

And then in a stroke of brilliance I downloaded “Shake” by Mercy Me and started dancing and cleaning like a complete fool; I don’t even thing the term reckless abandonment covers it.

Then I almost lost it.

I my glance fell on Lily just as she had pulled her hair tie out of her freshly french braided hair.

What are doing? I just got your hair fixed? Why in the world are you taking it down?

Ugh. The words just flooded out. She looked at me a little confused and a little hurt that I would ask such a question.

I tried a again a little more calmly this time.

Lilybug why did you do that when we just got it fixed.

Because you looked beautiful dancing and I wanted my hair to swing too.

She thought I looked beautiful. She thought my hair that hadn’t even seen a brush looked beautiful.

She thought letting my hair down and dancing around with all the freedom in my soul made me look beautiful.

Later when everyone was asleep for nap I couldn’t help but have some deep reflection about how my little girls see me and how it effects them when I tear myself down. Or even when I don’t say a word but I treat myself like I wasn’t knit by my creators hands.

She saw the beautiful that God intended. The kind I could never see reflected back from my critical and static mirror and she wanted to be the same.

Lord please help me to become the kind of woman I hope she will become. Help me blaze a trail of freedom and courage for my girls in the way God meant for me to lead them.

One thought on “Let Her Hair Down

  1. This is so sweet, Kaylie. I love how God uses our children to show us what’s most important. It’s so humbling and precious to be reminded of God’s grace and love by such sweet, innocent little hearts. This is a beautiful reminder that I needed today…thanks Lily Bug!! Love you all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

