Adoption Waiting or Lotso Tears

With our newest addition freshly arrived it has people often asking us when this little family will be complete.

The answer is complicated. Mostly because there is no answer.

As most of you know we received a referral for two precious little brothers that are currently living in a baby home (orphanage) in Uganda. That was almost nine months ago.

Nine months ago I felt sure they would be here with us now.

Obviously they aren’t.

Since we received thy referral they have each turned another year older. We have had another precious baby girl, and a slew of holidays have passed with out their sweet faces at our table.

There are multiple good and valid and right reasons for why our case in particular is taking so long; one of the main reasons being that both our agency and our babies home are dedicated to family preservation and limiting corruption in adoption.

Y’all, the first two years of this process I blew a lot of smoke about waiting on The Lord and trusting in God’s timing even though our process was taking longer than most. Turns out that’s all it really was, blowing smoke, because when it came down to having names and faces and lives attached, I stopped giving a flip about waiting on The Lord.

I want them here and I want them here Now!

In my spiritual discipline self I know that God is sovereign, that His timing is perfect, and that we are refined in the wait. I know. I know. I know.

But in my human, female, mother self I am Over It. I actually find myself despairing and losing hope multiple times a week.

Lest you think it is a lack of prayer or scriptural fortitude you should know that not only do I have our adoption on every prayer list from here to Timbuktu that I could get my hands on, but that I actually have an alarm set on mine and Russ’s phones so that we can join together in prayer at the same time together every day no matter where we are. I have God’s promises written on index cards, in my Bible margins, and on our refrigerator.

I still despair. I still lose hope.

I cry when we get new pictures of them.

I cry when we get yet another email from our agency that isn’t a court date.

So what I’m really saying here is:

I need my village. I need your prayers for hope. I need your prayers for a miracle. I need your prayers that we would be able to being these sweet boys home this year.

Please if you are a believing prayer add this to your prayer list. If you want to pray at daily with Russ and me we pray at 11:55 Central time.

And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.

Ephesians 6:18

One thought on “Adoption Waiting or Lotso Tears

Leave a Reply

