The Night Before Christmas

It’s not really any big secret that I adore Christmas music and I start listening to it promptly on October first because I believe that it deserves at least 25% of our year. From seasonal music like Jingle Bells to theologically profound songs like Joy to the World it pretty much all rocks my world.

But lets face it, we are celebrating the first advent of Jesus on this particular holiday and that in itself is so magical that only a few songs have truly ever seemed to capture the spirit of that time. Lyrics from O Holy Night can bring me to my knees,

Long lay the world in sin and error pining
‘Til He appeared and the soul felt its worth
A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices

And Joy to the World can give us glimpse of the power,

Joy to the World, the Savior reigns!
Let men their songs employ;
While fields and floods, rocks, hills and plains
Repeat the sounding joy

But if I’m really honest here, more recent attempts to capture the season seem a little floundering. Grown up Christmas List gives the problems and not the Answer. Christmas shoes is just a little too much sap for me. So i think we have been short changing ourselves on the Christmas Songs.

Until now.

Empty manger, perfect stranger, about to be born.
Into darkness, sadness, desperate madness, creation so torn.
We were so lost on earth, no peace, no worth.
no way to escape.

Wow.

And the world didnt know salvation was writing a song.
The night before Christmas.

It’s just so profoundly and simply true that it can’t help to move me.

Warm hay, cold sweat, a mother, not yet.
Praying godspeed the dawn.
She looks to her man, holding her hand. They wonder how long.

Because I’m with Missy at It’s Almost Naptime I don’t want to sanitize a gospel that was meant for the dirty and hurting.

 

So I bring you Brandon Heath’s The Night Before Christmas, A long needed breath of Christmas truth, honest, and love!

Leave a Reply

