Keeping it Real: Pregnancy

I linked to this post over at Take Heart this week., and that’s kinda what this little edition of Keeping it Real is about.

Every woman handles pregnancy differently, in fact we all handle each pregnancy differently. Let’s just go ahead and agree that no two experiences are the same.

I think pregnancy is a blessing. I believe it is a gift and that it is beautiful. I believe all that in a conceptual sense. Because really?

I have a very hard time being pregnant.

Please don’t miss understand that to mean I don’t want to be, or that I would give up ONE SECOND of it for anything in the world. Pregnancy brings babies and I happen to love those!

I remember being a young woman and seeing pregnant women and thinking they were soooooooo adorable. I couldn’t wait for all that adorableness to be all wrapped up in me.

When I actually got pregnant reality hit hard. In the form of severe morning sickness. Both times. Lots and lots and lots of puke for waaaaaaay longer than twelve to sixteen weeks. It’s really difficult to feel beautiful and transcendent when you spend most of your days and nights hugging the toilet. In fact it’s hard to even feel cute or fake a smile when people continually remind you how lucky you are when you are living in an exhausted haze.

When the sickness ended I was already in third trimester bloom. And by bloom I mean explosion. There are strange tummy issues, weird gasses, heartburn, backaches, and an inability to get up from the comfy (you know what I mean the squishy made for your bottom) part of the couch with out help due to general bigness.

I’m not here to whine. I’m not digging for compliments. I just want you to know that the reality of pregnancy for many of us is hard. It sparks discomfort, insecurity, and feeling of inadequacy (it’s difficult to be a good wife or mother when you can’t even take care of yourself). I’m just trying to keep it real.

So here is the take away from my pregnancy rant. Let’s all respect each others’ experiences. Let’s not make “Oh my goodness when are you due,” or ,”are you sure you not having twins” comments. When someone is having a difficult pregnancy or just a difficult time with pregnancy let avoid belittling her experience by heaping on guilt in the form of, “don’t forget how lucky you are,” or “lots of women would love to be pregnant.” Instead let’s just ask about a due date, offer a congratulation, possibly a prayer and hug for comfort and words of encouragement.

AND FOR ALL THAT IS GOOD AND BEAUTIFUL IN GOD’S CREATION DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT TELL A PREGNANT WOMAN HOW SHE WILL
NEVER SLEEP AGAIN OR HAVE A
LIFE. (Babies are the light at the end of our tunnel, don’t be the train)

Thank you that is all.

20120107-112508.jpg

Leave a Reply

