Keeping it Real: Morning

So the thing is I want you to think I look like this…


Most of the time. I think we can all agree that for the most part we put our best foot forward. Especially with our social media image. That seems pretty harmless, I mean who doesn’t want people to see them at their best?

It’s not harmless though. There is an entire generation of kids growing up believing that the virtual reality we are creating is actual reality. And they are killing themselves trying to live the lie that we are telling.

As a soon to be mom of two little girls it terrifies me. Magazines are banned from my house because even the most seemingly innocent (Good Housekeeping) still take their models and create a better “reality.” And don’t even get me started on the TV thing!

I want my girls to grow up knowing what real looks like and being comfortable with it. That starts with me.

So every once in awhile I’m going to post a picture of me. Real me.

This is what I look like when I wake up in the morning:


And I’m good with the way I look. This is how I look in the most important moments of my day. This is how I look when I spend time with Jesus. And I want my daughters to know that if their first fruits are going to the Father then they have the kind of beauty that can’t be taken away.

That is keeping it real.

Leave a Reply

