Three Months

Dearest Lilybug,

You are three months and one day old today and you no longer fit on your turtle.

That little blue turtle that swallowed you up for your first baths. Now your tail is usually hanging off the turtle tail. I can’t believe how much difference in you the last month has brought. You are no longer a sleepy newborn content to sit in one place for long periods of time until your return to you nap.

Now Lilybug you have to be held facing out, held standing up. You want to see the world around you everywhere you go. Even when I recline you on my knees so we can sing songs you are no longer satisfied with laying back and relaxing, you immediately start lurching forward so that you can be sitting up. I die a little inside every time. Not because I don’t want you to grow up healthy, strong, and independent, but because I just didn’t know it would happen so fast.

You sweet girl are truly teaching me to live in the moment. There is no time to look back and no point in looking forward. I am learning to enjoy you just as you are. Right. This. Moment. (Okay at this moment you are sleeping peacefully in your crib, but you know what I mean!)

Three months old and your daddy and I adore you more every day, you have demonstrated to us in the fullest way our minds can comprehend how much our Heavenly Father loves us, and how He love you too!

Now I have to go figure out a new plan for bathtime!!!

Love you baby girl,

Mommy

2 thoughts on “Three Months

  1. What a good way to sum up all the bittersweet feelings that come with Mothehood!! It’s a delicate balance of push/pull, isn’t it? Well, you and Russ are wonderful parents…Lily is a lucky girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

