Jammed Full

Wow I had an…interesting Wednesday! 

Adventure #1:

Mission: Clean out the storage shed.

Mission Accomplished

As I lifted, pulled, assembled, dragged, bent, stretched, and sweat I saw the storage shed coming together beautifully. Its really amazing what you can do with some plastic shelves and some elbow grease!

After I closed the shed door, threw Fiona the football a few times I stauntered towards the house to reward myself with a coke.

Wa…Wait, What??!?!?!

Why can’t I get in!?!?!

Oh no, I locked myself out.

No keys, no phone, no way to transport myself but my good ole trusty legs.

So off I marched and I do mean marched. It was such a very good indignite march. I mean how could I be so silly! I marched and stomped my way the whole six blocks to where Russ was working.

After a flash of suprise on his face to see me strolling (read doing the pout stomp) his face melted into a bemused grin. He didn’t know what happened, but then again he didn’t have to; I had marched six blocks empty handed!!! After hugging me, kissing me, and giving me his key to get in, he gentely reminded me about the key hidden in the backyard…

Right…I knew that? Well he swears I did and as he is a very honest person we’ll have to take him as his word!

 

Adventure # 2

Mission: Make Cindy’s Christmas Cookies

Mission: Still in progress

While singing Joyful and Triumphant and Waltzing of the Flowers around the house I decided the time has come to make Christmas cookies from scratch.

I peeked in the cabinets and refrigerator, made my list, and came home with a grocery bag full of potential cookies.

I read line by line and started putting in ingredients as I read. A dash of this, a few of these, a cup of that, four eggs. One. Two. Three. Uh oh! Only three eggs! I grabbed my keys and flew to the store to get another carten of eggs.

Ahhhhh, much better I thought as I cracked my fourth egg. I mixed like a mad woman and headed down the the next line.

5 Cups of flower. Wow five cups is a lot! Yikes I only have about 3 inches left in my bag of flower!

Off I flew again. As I reached the store paring lot I was gripped with panic!!! I had left a candle burning (to cover the smell of the burnt quisedillas I made for lunch). I whipped right back out of the parking lot and rushed home.

Okay candle is blown out. Still need more flower.

Return from the store witha huge bag of flower in tow. Ready to measure out flower. One. Two. Three. Four. Five. Wait…I have some left in this bag!!! Surely there wasn’t enough. I was sure there wouldn’t be enough!!!

Needless to say that dough got mixed like dough has never gotten mixed before!

Were the cookies good…guess you’ll have to wait and find out…

8 thoughts on “Jammed Full

  1. Wow…it does sound like a fun-filled day!!! Thank goodness you have a husband with a good sense of humor…I can just see you marching up to that house!

    Now, about those cookies….do we get some next week?

    Like

  2. I am so proud of your determination! Baking can be fun ~ you can do anything you set your mind to. Hope we get to taste them tomorrow. Looking forward to the weekend.

    Like

  3. Can this blog be read by anyone and everyone???
    ***Just a note of caution….remove the key that was in the backyard you told everyone about in this posting.

    Like

  4. Oh, Kaylie! I have so “been there, done that” on the baking front! ha ha You think you have all the things you need and suddenly………………you are out of vanilla in that giant bottle that only lasted, say about 10 years!

    One thing Nanny always told me, “Before you start baking, always have a dishpan full of warm water and clean as you go.” That one comes in handy, too!

    Like

  5. I second what my mom said “clean as you go” thats my motto. Its interesting that you put flower in your cookies instead of flour. That reminds me of when Chase said your mom makes her cookies from “scraps”, still cracks me up!

    Like

  6. Kaylie sounds like you had a interesting day.. I wish I could have seen the look on your face when you found out there was a key in the backyard the whole time..lol.. Sorry girl I had to laugh.. Glad your feeling better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

