God’s Laughter

Attenzionè: This post is not as lighthearted as most of what I write.

There is a saying that goes, ‘If you want to hear God laugh tell Him YOUR plans.’

I had plans. I had Big plans. I always have. I have dreamed of living abroad, living an exciting, adventurous, exotic life.

However plans change…and so do dreams. In the past few months somthing shifted inside of me, but it was uncomfortable so I chose to ingore it. Instead I threw myself into making my lifelong dream come true. I prepared and plotted like no one has ever done before.

God went along with my plans and even encouraged them and now I know why…He needed to show me that I wanted different things now than I did before instead of tell me (cause you know you can’t tell me nothing).

While Italy is still the beautiful and wonderful place it was the summer of 2005, however, living here is no longer what I want. Yes. I did have a bad experience with my family, but that is not really the reason. I knew the second I set foot here that something happened to me that had never happened before in my life:

I was homesick. Seriously homesick. (This is from the girl that was gone for the whole summer and only called home two or three times)

I am coming home.

To those who are dissapointed I sincerely apologize.

To those who said I couldn’t do it I stand here to say that you were right and I am humbled.

I am choking on my pride right now, but I want to thank all of you for your love and support. It would be so easy to stay, to find a different family and settle in, but please understand that I am making the harder decision because I truly believe that it is God’s will.

So now I am laughing with Him. In fact I am laughing all the way to PARIS tommorrow.

 

See you on Friday!

Bonjour!

5 thoughts on “God’s Laughter

  1. My dear Kaylie………I sincerely doubt that anybody thought you couldn’t do it…..but, I , for selfish reasons only, am glad you’re coming home!!! I’m so sorry this has happened but dreams are a funny thing! You DID follow that dream, but when other people are involved, things can go awry. You know your family will be waiting with open arms and will go over to Rome and open up a can of whip ass if we have too! ha Love you, sweetie! The phantom, the slushies, and I await your arrival!

    Like

  2. Kaylie
    I am sorry and overjoyed at the same time to hear you are coming home! I can’t believe that family treated you that way! Come home to Texas where you belong. There will be many Thirsty Thursday evenings, and even more fabulous hat parties to attend when you get back, they are not the same without you. Love you!

    Like

  3. Hello Miss Kaylie,

    Chris and I are so sorry that things did not go as planned in Italy…but we are excited to hear that you are coming back to Texas. We will be praying for your trip. Maybe we will see you at the Tech game on Saturday?

    Like

  4. Kaylie,

    Coming home is no failure, it is only coming back to people who love you. I followed my dreams once for almost a year before I came home and am happier now than I ever was in L.A. God will let you know what he wants on his timing not ours! Some things we have to learn for ourselves and then we find out different dreams can bring us more joy than we could have imagined.

    I love you bunches,
    Jennifer

    Like

Leave a Reply

